July 25, 2024
অফিসঃ ৬৯/ডি/১, রোডঃ ৬/এ, ধানমন্ডি, ঢাকা ১২০৯, বাংলাদেশ
কার্যক্রম কেন্দ্রীয় কমিটি

One Bangladesh unveils new committee, vows to foster knowledge-based society

One Bangladesh, a social organization of professionals, vowed to foster a knowledge-based society while announcing its 61-member new central committee on Friday.

Professor Md Roshidul Hasan has been elected as President, and Dr Kaniz Aklima Sultana as General Secretary, for the term 2023-2028.

Former cabinet secretary Kabir Bin Anwar is the patron of the organization, while vice-chancellors of different public universities are the advisers.

One Bangladesh says they aim to support the creation of an intellectual, non-communal, and prosperous Bangladesh by implementing the ideals of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and the initiatives of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

“Ek Tarjani Ek Desh Bangabandhur Bangladesh” (one index finger, one country, Bangabandhu’s Bangladesh) is the slogan of the organization. Bangabandhu used to raise his index finger to underline his demands in public statements including the historic March 7 speech.

Roshidul Hasan reiterated the organization’s mission to build a knowledge-based society founded on the four pillars of the Bangladesh constitution – nationalism, socialism, democracy, and secularism.

He emphasized the organization’s role in creating skilled manpower for the future of Bangladesh.

Promoting education, research, health services, and culture, and playing a role in building a technology-based Bangladesh are among the regular activities of the organization.

Member of the Parliament Engineer Abdus Sabur, an adviser of One Bangladesh, was also present at the announcement of the committee at a meeting at the Institution of Engineers, Bangladesh.

An international research journal was also launched at the meeting.

Vice-Presidents of the new committee are Professor Dr Md Helal Uddin Nizami, Professor Dr Anirban Mostafa, Professor Dr AM Selim Reza, Professor Dr Nirmal Chandra Roy, Tuku Talukder, Professor Dr Md Morshedur Rahman and Prof. Dr. Mohammad Tofayal Ahmed.

Prof Dr Dip Nandi and journalist Mohsin Ul Hakim are joint secretaries, while Prof Dr Md Alam Hossain, Shariful Anwar, and Engineer Ranak Ahshan are organizing secretaries.

Rezwana Rahman (Tonu) is the Treasurer while Sadequr Rahaman Khan is the Office Secretary, journalist Nurul Islam Hasib is the Media and Publications Secretary, Prof Dr Md Forhad Hossain is the Planning Secretary, Prof Dr Md Sekender Ali is the Education Secretary, Prof Dr Md Rezuanul Islam is the Research & Development Secretary, Dr Golam Kawser Himel is the Social Welfare Secretary, Md Taher Ul Alam Chowdhury Swapan is the Youth and Sports Secretary, and Tapas Ranjan Chakraborty is the International Affairs Secretary of the new committee.

Barrister Farzana is the Legal Affairs Secretary, while Dr Sajal Chowdhury is the Science and Technology Secretary, Md. Shamsuddin Al Azad is the Agricultural Secretary, A S M Jamal Uddin is the Industry and Commerce Secretary, Sabit Hasan is the Environment & Climate Secretary, Dr Dalia Nasrinis the Women Affairs Secretary, Bir Muktijoddha Jahiruddin Ahmed is the History and Liberation Secretary, Engr A S M Asraf is the Innovation and Entrepreneurship Secretary, Arian Arif is the Emergency Response Secretary, Tushar Khan is the Cultural Secretary, Dr. Shahnaj Parvin is the Health Secretary, and Shariful Hasan Sumon is the ICT Secretary, among others.